Choose your Bike...

...Or pick a department

Reviews of MachineArt X-Heads for 1250 models (pair) R1250GS/1250Adv, R1250RT/1250RS/1250R

X HEADS Jim Benbow on Oct 21, 2022

Rating: 5

VERY IMPRESSED

Great Product. Charlie B on Oct 01, 2022

Rating: 5

Looks Great! Fits Good! No Issues! Completely Recommend. Compatible with the Genuine Engine Bars. Purchased a while ago, I only got round to fitting them today.

MachineArt X-Heads R1250RT MR IAN E PILMER on Jul 07, 2022

Rating: 5

These guards fitted perfectly to my 2021 R1250RT. They protect the engine heads from knocks and scuffs and look "smart" on my bike.

X Heads Bmw R 1250 RS Le Palaire Nicolas on Jun 12, 2022

Rating: 5

Envoi rapide. Produit de très bonne qualité, s’adapte parfaitement à la moto en lui donnant un très beau look. J’espère ne pas avoir à tester leur résistance 😁. Je recommande fortement.

Cylinder head covers Robin Dalton on May 30, 2022

Rating: 5

I had to slacken the engine guards off to fit them but they fit snug and look brill. Extra protection incase it falls over and a rock hits the cylinder head between the engine bars. Would recommend them 😀

Machine Art X-Heads for BMW R1250RT Nick Corbin on May 25, 2022

Rating: 5

These X-Heads from Machine Art are beautifully engineered and a perfect fit on my R1250RT. I have little doubt they would provide sufficient protection in the event of a low speed drop to prevent the bike being immobilised due to cylinder head cover damage. They also look like an OE part and do not detract in any way from the overall appearance of the bike. Thoroughly recommended.

Job well done diane diskin on Apr 17, 2022

Rating: 4

Job well done ...PERFECT....Only needed the 1 but always handy to have a spare. Efficient postal service ,and packed very well.

Proved itself :( Gusztav Szuhai on Apr 16, 2022

Rating: 5

I think the bike looks way better with this protection than with any crashbars. And it's excellent engineering and quality. Unfortunately I was hit by a car 4 weeks ago, so the protection was tested. The bike remained in second gear and continued its journey on the asphalt on its right side, drawing circles until the kill switch was reached. The valve head was well protected from any damage. However, the screws were deformed by the accident so that the valve head moved a bit and the oil started to leak. Nothing dramatic, the bike remained usable but needed repair. So, I replaced the MachineArt protection with new one, but now also added the unwanted crash-bars, haha. The Wunderlich crash-bars I bought only fit on top of the X-Heads with added washers. I also use the aluminium hand-protection from MachineArt, which took the hit like it was nothing, protecting not just my hands but everything around the cockpit and the handlebars. Highly recommended!

Machine art cylinder head guards Richard Mannings on Feb 22, 2022

Rating: 5

Great product. Easy to fit.

Top Quality product Thanassis Vassilakopoulos on Feb 09, 2022

Rating: 5

Top Quality product, Excellent service, Fair pricing

Machine Art X-heads for R1250RT Gerard Clarke on Feb 04, 2022

Rating: 4

Superb quality and easy to fit they look like they came with the bike. The only negative point is the quality of the 3 screws provided. I replaced these screws with BMW screws.

X Heads william judd on Feb 03, 2022

Rating: 4

Great deal and service Thank you

Protections moteur Curti on Jan 24, 2022

Rating: 5

Protections très bien finies, s'adaptent parfaitement. Gain de poids énorme par rapport à des protections tubulaires et sûrement très robustes en cas de chute.

Great item Kevin Ireland on Jan 16, 2022

Rating: 5

Well pleased with the protectors, they fit like a glove and look well on the bike, really good quality and unlike crash bars don't spoil the look of the bike,hopefully I won't need to use them, but if the worse happens they will give me some protection

Easy to fit even with wundelich lower bars in place David Edwell on Dec 12, 2021

Rating: 5

These arrived promptly (as usual with Nippy Normans). I already had wunderlich lower crash bars fitted. There was no need to remove the crash bars, The X-heads just slipped into place. Remarkably easy and look great.

Machineartmoto X Heads Carey Griffiths on Nov 05, 2021

Rating: 5

Really great product that integrates nicely with the OEM crash bars. Fast service to New Zealand too

Always helpful Rachel on Oct 15, 2021

Rating: 5

I ordered the wrong item and took a while before I realised ready to put it on outside returning period. I contacted nippynormans who were spot on, helpful and sent correct links for correct parts accepting returned items. I have used them for years and cannot praise their customer service enough. 👍

Machine Art X-Heads albert stokes on Oct 05, 2021

Rating: 4

Easy fit and look good, arrived when they said, fitted them straight away they look like they have always been there.

MachineArt X-Heads Mark Weir on Oct 03, 2021

Rating: 5

Ridiculously easy to fit. The video on the website explains it all. Some Loctite on the bolts is probably a good idea. Look like OEM and cover most of the cylinder heads.

MachineArt X heads for GS 1250 Andy M on Oct 01, 2021

Rating: 5

Super, high quality product, that looks great, easy to fit, and fulfills function so much better than equivalent OEM item. Very pleased. If, like me, you dislike engine bars, these are a must

Head Protection Paul Harding on Sep 28, 2021

Rating: 4

Very well made, feel a quality product, hope to never put them to the test but........................ Very easy to fit, excellent fit. Would have preferred the Wunderlich version which has an aluminium strip but they werent in stock.

Good quality George Watt on Sep 08, 2021

Rating: 5

great quality and will save me a small fortune if i happen to drop the bike, which i have been close to a few times, when fully laden and in car parks etc. fingers crossed never need them.

Mr Ian on Aug 09, 2021

Rating: 4

Fitted perfectly with clear instructions, just hope I don’t have to put them to test !

MachineArt R1250GS Xheads John Anderson on Jul 30, 2021

Rating: 5

The usual high quality that you’d expect form MachineArt. Excellent fit, and certainly look like they’ll do their job to protect the engine casing, in a stationary drop, or low speed spill (hoping though that none of these happen!). Nice and discreet protection, and look like original figment.

Machine Art X heads Kevin Griffiths on Jul 17, 2021

Rating: 4

Good product, efficiency as usual from nippy norman. Items are quality and look good, took 10mins to fit but take you time with screws, easy to cross thread.

Machine Art X heads Daniel Jennett on Jun 29, 2021

Rating: 5

Superb service, brilliant product. Took me 10 minutes to fit and looked superb

Copri teste cilindri Lauriano on May 31, 2021

Rating: 5

Il prodotto migliore per la protezione delle teste dei cilindri. Un prodotto perfetto.

Machine Art X-heads for 1250 Filip Brabants on Mar 01, 2021

Rating: 5

Super happy with this cylinder protection, looks better then the OEM solution, some caution however on fitting the bottom screws, they don’t go in perpendicular, so you have to be extra careful not to mess up the thread.

Mr Geoffrey Bell on Jan 12, 2021

Rating: 5

X Heads was the easiest and quickest mod I have added to any bike, and looks like an OEM part.

Highly Recommended Rick H on Dec 19, 2020

Rating: 5

Excellent protection at a very good price

Don't Loose Your Head(s) Gareth Williams on Nov 30, 2020

Rating: 4

Pricey, but cheaper than new heads. The design fit and quality are all top notch. I was apprehensive but they do fit with the Wunderlich crash bars too. Lastly, they look good.

X-Heads Thanassis Vassilakopoulos on Nov 12, 2020

Rating: 5

Top quality, fits perfect, Excellent service

Lovely kit Mike Rowland on Oct 25, 2020

Rating: 5

Bravo MachineArt, a well-designed and finished product. High quality materials used. Unobstrusive on the bike and looks OE to my mind. Also, refreshingly, reasonable value too. Nice one Nippy's.

Easy to fit - look good Stephen Lane on Oct 22, 2020

Rating: 5

A good looking, unobtrusive way of protecting against slow speed drops. Quick and easy to fit.

MachineArt X-Heads 1250RT darren cresswell on Oct 21, 2020

Rating: 5

Really well made protection with the rubber insert. Colour matches well to the bike. Super easy to install, even i could do it. highly recommended.

X- Enders Jonathan Dorward on Oct 06, 2020

Rating: 5

Thought I would buy these instead of engine bars, alot lighter.

Excellent Product Dave Hawke on Sep 30, 2020

Rating: 4

Good, well made product which fits nice and tightly. However - I also have the OEM crash bars and found I had to trim the black rubber protector on the LH crash bar to get the OEM crash bars to refit properly (as it pressed tightly against the cover and stopped the crash bar bolts being tightened without putting undue pressure on the LH cover). In fact getting the OEM crash bars refitted was problematical until I discovered that if you finger tighten the rear crash bar bolt first (whilst holding the crash bar in place) and then finger tightened the other bolts it all bolted up nicely and you could then torque all bolts.

Dhr Ronald de Sanders on Sep 06, 2020

Rating: 4

Great item looks great fits well. Packaged well arrived in a relatively short time. Great service would use again

MachineArt X-Heads Ian Marshall on Aug 30, 2020

Rating: 5

Very easy to fit and look good on bike

Would use again Geoff on Aug 24, 2020

Rating: 4

Great item looks great fits well. Packaged well arrived in a relatively short time. Great service would use again. Cheers

MachineArt X-Head protectors Robert Jeffries on Aug 01, 2020

Rating: 5

Excellent and easy fit and great quality, very pleased with them.

Great item!!! Tony Hancock on Jul 10, 2020

Rating: 4

Great quality item, very easy fitting. They look great too. Recommended!!

Great product John Marchment on Jun 27, 2020

Rating: 5

These covers are very well made and attached by only 3 screws into pre-drilled and tapped holes. Almost as if 'arranged' by BMW!. The are super easy to fit and hug the contours of the heads superbly. A bit pricey though. A pair costs the same as one cylinder head!

Head protection William Clark on Jun 23, 2020

Rating: 5

Brilliant accessory, very easy to fit. Just a simple drop in the carpark can cost hundreds without them. Highly recommended.

? Pascal Broos on Apr 29, 2020

Rating: 5

Na enkele dagen geleverd. Product zeer goed beschermend ingepakt. Gemonteerd op 5 min tijd met bijgeleverde schroeven en paste perfect. Ik raad dit zeker iedereen aan.

Snug fit Keith Leadsford on Apr 17, 2020

Rating: 5

Really snug fit on the heads and 1.5mm space between the protectors and the Touratech engine crashbars. BULLETPROOF!

Cylinder Guards Bob. Provan on Apr 04, 2020

Rating: 5

Seems expensive until you drop the bike; lighter and neater than engine bars.

MachineArt x heads Simon Hunt on Feb 28, 2020

Rating: 5

Fitted in under 10 mins. Well engineered and look good too.

MachineArt X-Heads for 1250 GSA David Potter on Feb 28, 2020

Rating: 5

I wanted the best product for my R1250 and the X Head covers are that, they fitted perfectly and come with the required Bolts etc I am really pleased with the finish and fit to my bike an easy DIY addition.

MachineArt X-Heads for 1250 models (pair) R1250GS/1250Adv, R1250RT/1250RS/1250R Ramon Viso on Nov 05, 2019

Rating: 5

Very Easy to install!!! Immediately went on a trip with very technical roads. Went down exactly were the dirt road turns into pavement and the bike slid on its side on the pavement. Even though the product was shaved it did a spectacular job protecting the engine. Could not be happier.

The best! Kuki Barbuceanu on Oct 22, 2019

Rating: 5

NN is the most serious and reliable BMW (at least) accessory supplier on the EU market. Period! The MachineArt X-Heads looks and fits perfect. I just hope to don't test their utility.

machine art head protectors r1250rs Nicholas Bamber on Oct 15, 2019

Rating: 5

Look good ,good protection and well made

X Heads for R 1250 RT Loïc LE BAIL on Oct 04, 2019

Rating: 4

Beautiful appearance on the bike, really well designed and manufactured.

Great product Matt on Oct 01, 2019

Rating: 4

Really good product, I am sure that they will do their job if the time comes! Watch out for the lower mount bolt it goes in on the wonk!!

XHEADS 1250 Kev Gray on Sep 26, 2019

Rating: 5

As is the norm with any product from Machine Art, these 1250 X-Head protectors fitted perfectly, and fitted very easily in minutes. They also look like an OEM BMW part and match the bike's other abs perfectly.

machine art x head for r1250rs Graham Lewis on Sep 25, 2019

Rating: 5

looks good well fitted and better than the BMW ones

Great quality and neat styling Stephen Normington on Sep 25, 2019

Rating: 4

I had X-Heads on my old R1200GS LC and they worked perfectly when I dropped my bike at a standstill outside a B&B on holiday. The 1250 version are also excellent quality and look good fitted. My only complaint is the Torx screws supplied with them as the socket is quite shallow and a poor fit to the Torx wrench. It would be easy to damage the socket, so I’d recommend buying some OE BMW Torx screws instead.

Machine Art X-heads for 1250 Tilly on Sep 19, 2019

Rating: 5

Perfect. Easy to fit and look better than anything BMW currently has to offer.

machineart 1250 xheads Pedro Rodrigues on Sep 19, 2019

Rating: 5

Look good on the bike, very easy to fit and are what I was expecting, recomended.

Machine Art X-heads for 1250 Jim Caola on Aug 28, 2019

Rating: 5

Arrived and fitted in less than 10 mins, ridiculously easy and look OEM. A quick wipe over with some ACF50 and I'm ready for winter and any unexpected drops. Might be an idea to put a drop of thread sealant on the lower bolts which I will do but the instructions don't mention it.

MachineArt X-Heads Barry Graham on Aug 27, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy installation and a very good fit against the heads.Should offer good protection in the event of a tip over.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: