Choose your Bike...

Covid 19 Service Update

There are no issues with delivery anywhere and all of our staff are working normally.

Stay Safe

The Nippy Normans Team

Free Delivery

For orders over £10 to the UK & Ireland.

For orders over £49 to Europe.

...Or pick a department

Reviews of Nippy Normans dual USB socket for BMW motorcycles (PLUG AND PLAY)

Useful Serial Bus Ian on Sep 11, 2020

Rating: 5

Replacing the Hella DIN socket with this part was easy, took about 3 minutes. Now I can use it for something like keeping my phone charged and/or recharging my headset etc. I Have Non-Can-bus CTek chargers that connect to the battery terminals, so this socket was pretty much useless as it was. I sure wasn't buying a can-bus charger just for this purpose.

Dual USB socket Stewart Ferguson on Sep 08, 2020

Rating: 5

Does what it says on the tin, easily fitted. Plug and Play as advertised.

USB adapter Tony on Sep 05, 2020

Rating: 5

This double USB charger is great for phones, cameras or any other accessory that needs power without any other type of adapter.

for Nippy Normans dual USB socket for BMW motorcycles Jamie on Sep 03, 2020

Rating: 5

Got this as I wasn't satisfied with cheaper alternatives. I'm much happier with the design of this and, even though it will take a bit of customisation to the bike's wiring system to fit, it will be well worth it. Great product - don't waste your time with other USB charger points.

Great product Simon Crawford on Aug 24, 2020

Rating: 4

Great product! Easy to fit and replaces the practically useless BMW power outlets with something useful!

Mr Bill Barker on Aug 22, 2020

Rating: 5

Easy to fit, about 15 mins, and replaces the original DIN socket, BMW should fit these from new! Fairly expensive but appears well made and looks great.

This is the right decision Gary on Aug 17, 2020

Rating: 5

I bought a cheaper USB plug in adaptor. After It fell out twice and interfered with my steering I bought this. I have size 12 hands (xxxl) and fitted this without having to remove panels. The spanner you need is included. Plenty of videos online showing you how to. Other factors. The original socket won't let you run an electric tyre pump. You have to get a particular type of battery charger to allow you to maintain the battery through the original socket. The original socket seems basically limited to running a phone charger so you are loosing nothing by getting rid of it.

Quick n easy Dan Ditlevsen on Aug 13, 2020

Rating: 5

Excellent and easy product. Should be standard on all bikes.

Very Useful! Ian Snell on Aug 13, 2020

Rating: 5

Never really used the DIN connection and thought it was a little pointless. However, by chance watched a Nick Hodge (YouTube video who does a few mods to his GS) about changing it out for this dual USB socket which for me is far more useful! Fitting is very straight forward comprehensive instructions provided! Worth the money thanks NN!

Plug in usb conversion Ahmed on Jul 31, 2020

Rating: 5

Got the plug and play usb conversion for my GS as I wanted to be able to change my phone whilst on the road. The product was despatched really quickly, the instructions were clear and simple and the unit worked perfectly! A really great product from a really great company.

gook kit Martin Wright on Jul 29, 2020

Rating: 4

after initial disappointment that it didn't just "plug-in" to the DIN socket i got the spanner out & fitted it - looks good & just works - spot on

Dual usb John Gunn on Jul 27, 2020

Rating: 3

Was gutted it didn't fit on my k1200rs (different plug fitments). Is a very well made piece of kit . Nippy Norman's refunded me no problems .

Dual USB socket Dennis Peperkorn on Jul 24, 2020

Rating: 5

Great product easy to install works as advertised

Plug and Play Stephen Bibb on Jul 17, 2020

Rating: 4

Took me about 10 minutes to fit this and it's so much better than trying to fit an adaptor into the original DIN socket

Good product Oliver Chalker on Jul 12, 2020

Rating: 4

Good product giving use of two usb sockets. Easy to fit . Just plug and play

Mrs Pauline Thornton on Jun 29, 2020

Rating: 5

easy to fit, plug and play, does what it says on the tin. soo much better that using the din sockets.

Perfect upgrade Jason mead on Jun 27, 2020

Rating: 5

Great addition, the original plug with adapter was a pain. Great easy fit especially with slim spanner supplied. Haven’t tested in bad weather yet but don’t foresee any problems.

Really handy twin USB port Phil on Jun 13, 2020

Rating: 5

Really handy twin USB port, makes charging phone and other items easy in tank bag. Really think something like this could be standard BMW fit rather than the Din socket. Would be easier to fit with smaller hands but didn’t take that long, thin spanner provided. It’s been soaked and still works so appears to be water resistant. Recommended.

Superb and Easy to Fit BigBikeMad on Jun 04, 2020

Rating: 5

Fitted this easily and its a great bit of kit. Here is the review and install video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBOofCZarVo&feature=youtu.be

Easy to fit Keith R on May 28, 2020

Rating: 5

Dead easy to fit. With the optional kit to fit the OEM socket near the rear shock, it makes life so much easier for tyre inflation, etc.

Easy install and does the job Edgar Stokka on May 17, 2020

Rating: 5

Easy install and does the job easier when charging multiple devices while travelling.

Nice Addition Mike Dignum on May 07, 2020

Rating: 4

10 minute job to swap out the standered DIN plug and replace it with this. One small negative is that the covers are loose fitting and i do agree with other reviewers that thaey will/may pop open easily when unit is not in use. Looks good though.

Great addition for comms The Flipster on May 03, 2020

Rating: 5

Very very easy to fit and an excellent upgrade to standard part. Recommend you buy the Nippy Normans DIN socket relocation kit as well. It is also very easy to fit and an excellent position to leave the bike on trickle charge if required.

USB socket Mark Hunt on Apr 14, 2020

Rating: 5

Really useful twin USB sockets, saves having to use a plug-in and it’s waterproof

Well made Gary Evans on Apr 07, 2020

Rating: 4

Straight forward job, made easier with the very detailed instructions and the special short spanner provided. Maybe a bit pricey, but it all works.

Dual USB Socket Ross on Apr 05, 2020

Rating: 5

Quality product. Kit comes complete with handy spanner to make fitting a doddle. Makes charging devices on the bike really convenient.

Dual USB ports Grant on Mar 09, 2020

Rating: 4

Great product. Works perfectly and I like the both ways to attach a USB cable. The rubber cover could be a little deeper to ensure rigidity during a wash but overall the quality felt very good. It also looks good on the bike.

A doddle to fit & seems to keep the USB plug dry BRIAN LITTLE on Feb 25, 2020

Rating: 5

An easy installation for instant dual USB power. The only flip-cover socket that has a rubber curtain to keep out the rain, which it does effectively.

Easy installation. So far so good! Brian Little on Dec 24, 2019

Rating: 5

A doddle to install. Seems like a good weather seal around the USB cable. I leave a cable attached permanently so I can plug/unplug the phone easily. Time alone will tell if the weather seal holds - two weeks and looking good so far!

Just what I needed jake stevenson on Oct 30, 2019

Rating: 4

This is just what I needed, it arrived in time if not earlier and was very easy to fit. The instructions are basic but enough to get the job done. Very happy with this purchase, however it is little expensive for what to is. Jake

USB ports Mark Butler on Oct 20, 2019

Rating: 4

Easy to fit, good quality and works well.

Dual USB for BMW Mark Pil on Sep 26, 2019

Rating: 5

Great product. Easy to fit and the small spanner supplied made it even easier. The seals both in and out of use appear excellent but as yet untested in the rain in use. Looks like its a factory fir option too.

Dual usb socket AndyC on Sep 16, 2019

Rating: 5

Excellent, quick fit and easy to use. Just right for charging on the move, two week road trip to prove!

Dual USB socket for BMW Olav on Aug 17, 2019

Rating: 5

Recived in a week, easy to install, very userfriendly

Perfect Lars Myklemyr on Aug 05, 2019

Rating: 5

Just does the job nice :)

USB double socket Howard Heseltine on Aug 03, 2019

Rating: 5

Got my replacement socket on time no problems took about 5mins to fit ,they even give you the spanner to fit the retaining nut , socket works really well and is weather proof too if you put the rubber cap on .

Straight Swap Bob Stewart on Jul 09, 2019

Rating: 5

Purchased as a gift for me, by my daughter. Fitting couldn't have been easier, as described, disconnect the feed from the loom to the back of the original DIN socket, Undo the big retaining nut with the supplied spanner, remove DIN, insert USB, replace big retaining nut, reconnect feed from loom. Job done, Simples.

Dual usb socket Matheos Qiriaqi on Jun 23, 2019

Rating: 4

Even a muppet like me can fit it, I was expecting to need help. Works as it should.

Poor Quality David Hart on May 26, 2019

Rating: 2

This USB socket is hugely poor quality, the rubber seal caps do not stay shut when pressure washing, the rubber cap top part is not sealed and lets water in, inside the unit there are two electrical resistor which are not sealed and any sign of moisture will cause the unit to fail, the GSA has a trip reset built into the management system but this becomes useless if the socket itself get damp. advice would be to take the unit apart and fill the inside with ACF50 and then seal the unit once replacing the rubber cap, cover the top if jet washing, this unit should have been better designed as a sealed unit only exposing the two Usb ports to possible moisture exposure NIPPY NORMANS SAYS Thanks for your comments David. NEVER use a pressure washer anywhere near electrical components or wheel bearings as water can still get in. If you are saying that the rubber caps do not stay in place then please either send the product back or bend the cap 'hinge' hard into a proper fold and they will stay shut. We have sold plenty of these with no issues.

Dual USB Graeme Sutherland on May 26, 2019

Rating: 5

Bought this a few days before a 4 day tour of Scotland on the GS. It was so easy to fit and really made the difference to the trio as we were camping without any real places to get power. The Dual USB allowed me to charge my phone whilst riding throughout the day, so I was never without charge. This is a must have item!

USB connector Anthony Lewis on May 19, 2019

Rating: 5

First class product, and as usual great service for Nippy Norman’s, brought the product as going on a Tour of Europe ( Switzerland) And need more USB ports on the bike to charge everything, and this looks as if it was factory fitted, very easy to fit, and they even supply the tools needed.

Dual USB socket pug&play Steinar Berntsen on May 18, 2019

Rating: 5

It is rally plug&play. Looks original on my GS. Happy norwegian.

Mr Anthony Brooks on May 03, 2019

Rating: 5

Very happy with the high quality product and quick shipping.

Great little addition Mark Campbell on Apr 19, 2019

Rating: 5

It is exactly as described and fits perfectly. This really should be standard in this day and age. Highly recommend it.

excellent replacement product Peter on Apr 10, 2019

Rating: 5

This USB socket was exactly what I was looking for and a bonus because there are two sockets. It's an easy "plug and play" install using the existing wiring and avoids needing all the adapters and cables to go from the Powerlet (DIN) socket to a USB. The design is well thought out, it fits into the existing location, it's sturdy and the individual rubber protection covers are ideal.

Dual USB Charger Martin on Apr 04, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy to fit and it works great, excellent customer service from Norman’s.

Mr Richard on Mar 31, 2019

Rating: 5

Great bit of kit and easy installation.Can charge kit on the move in my tank bag.Ok so you can’t charge the battery for the socket but I only put it on charge over the winter and it’s easy enough to charge the battery direct

Easy to fit Steve Savery on Mar 28, 2019

Rating: 5

It took no time at all to fit, though the nut is a little hard to reach (stop laughing at the back!). The higher output of the first socket is perfect for charging my bigger capacity iPhone XS Max whilst simultaneously using it as a SatNav. Other devices sometimes didn't have enough mAh to charge whilst under heavy use. The water resistant caps are a nice touch, and the plugs fit snuggly with a rubber seal, suggesting they'll keep light showers out whilst in use.

USB Socket Graham Florence on Mar 23, 2019

Rating: 4

Good quality and compact design. Fitting: Overall it was an easy proces but you will need a ‘long’ 22mm scocket to be able to remove and fit the USB adapter. The tool supplied was not suitable for the F850.

Not great on the F700GS Inigo on Mar 16, 2019

Rating: 4

Great on a R1200GS and a nineT but I bought one for a F700GS and it doesn't sit properly in the plastic part. It is a shame as it is a great piece of kit. NIPPY NORMANS SAYS Have you tried fitting the spacer above the mount to make it site higher - this is what other customers have done.

USB Tony on Feb 28, 2019

Rating: 4

Easily fitted, required the included adapter to clear the bodywork. Works as it should.

Mr Jackson Hutchinson on Feb 24, 2019

Rating: 4

Good product but I bought it to fit to my Aprilia. It requires a specific BMW 2 pin plug to connect to a power source (which I had to order from my local BMW dealer) so maybe you should state this on your website, or even offer it for an extra few Euro's

Easy as David Atkin on Feb 22, 2019

Rating: 4

Great piece of kit and so easy to fit , they even supply the spanner . I switched my DIN socket for this twin usb socket as I didn’t have usb available on my 2014 machine

Excellent product Derek on Feb 10, 2019

Rating: 5

Just the job I can charge my phone and run my sat nav with this device. Peace of mind as well as it’s waterproof. Well made and reasonable easy to fit

Mr Paul Jerram on Feb 07, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy to fit, 5 min job, excellent

Dual USB Socket Allan Murray on Jan 18, 2019

Rating: 4

Simple enough to dismantle the plastic front fairing, carried out same time as larger replacement windscreen ( also from NN ) installed without much fuss can only be installed one way, operates fine, not familiar with the original type of power socket.

Dual USB Socket Allan Murray on Jan 18, 2019

Rating: 5

Simple enough to dismantle the plastic front fairing, carried out same time as larger replacement windscreen ( also from NN ) installed without much fuss can only be installed one way, operates fine, not familiar with the original type of power socket.

Spot on Aaron Gallen on Jan 03, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy to fit, good quality, 5 minute job.

Usb Leif Rune Vad on Dec 04, 2018

Rating: 5

Wery good, fit perfect

Dual usb socket T Fawcett on Nov 27, 2018

Rating: 4

Excellent Product, easily fitted

From Din to Dual usb Robert on Nov 23, 2018

Rating: 4

Ok Fairly easy to fit hardest bit was separating the din socket from the cable but once done easy to fit. Gotta say the usb covers had flapped open but just need a good push down and hey presto

Dual USB Wayne on Nov 16, 2018

Rating: 5

Easy to fit, looks the biz, prompt service from NN. Should be fitted as a matter of course.

Best accessory i have ever fitted David on Nov 11, 2018

Rating: 5

Of all the bits i have bought for my bike this dual USB socket is the most useful thing ever, i did have the Din to USB which as wobbly, fragile and not very water resistant, this is far more stable took less then five minutes to fit and has been used endlessly since fitting, this is a most have as far as i am concerned

Great product. Fast delivery. Serge on Nov 10, 2018

Rating: 5

Great affordable product that looks like real oem and works fine too. The best available solution on the market to get rid of all existing din-adapters and cables. Thanks Nippynormans for the fast delivery. Great job.

Dual USB socket for BMW Rune Børli on Nov 01, 2018

Rating: 5

Plug and play. Installation took a couple of minutes. Works and fit perfectly.

Dual usb William hockaday on Oct 22, 2018

Rating: 4

The dual usb socket is a great product and takes only a few minutes to swap over, and looks good aswell

Dual USB Socket GS BMW Dave Ross on Oct 11, 2018

Rating: 5

Another excellent product with a great fast delivery time.

Review Martin CHRISTIANSON on Oct 10, 2018

Rating: 5

Excellent piece of kit.If I can fit it, anyone can ! Looks and fits as if it was a standard BMW part. Highly recommended.

Review Martin CHRISTIANSON on Oct 10, 2018

Rating: 5

Excellent piece of kit.If I can fit it, anyone can ! Looks and fits as if it was a standard BMW part. Highly recommended.

USB OUTLET FOR R1200GS Arthur P Turner on Oct 02, 2018

Rating: 4

I may have misunderstood the description as I did not understand that this REPLACES the existing BMW power supply socket. I thought it simply plugged in. However once fitted it works well but the downside is that the original outlet has to be refitted to connect the battery charger. This is not clear in the description but it does look good and works well once installed and the swap back takes less than 10 mins.

Very useful socket Wayne Shepherd on Sep 30, 2018

Rating: 4

The socket was a piece of cake to swap/fit on the F800GS. Whilst touring Spain/France I needed it to power a sat Nav and charge my go-pro batteries at the same time And it did that without any problem. However, with a tank bag on the bike I did find that the rubber cover did get pushed open easily, leaving it open to the elements, otherwise, great little unit and very useful.

Usb charger Mark Bailey on Sep 29, 2018

Rating: 4

I love the way it looks like it came out of the factory with it fitted and not an aftermarket bolt on. Simple to fit useful addition to the bike

Waterproof USB dual switch Antony Moth on Sep 26, 2018

Rating: 5

Easy to fit, having just returned from Scotland and some heavy rain showers I can confirm it is waterproof and it works!

Easy to install Tomas on Sep 24, 2018

Rating: 5

Easy to install, even with Your "thumb in the middle of the hand"

usb/dual dong hyun lee on Sep 21, 2018

Rating: 4

Very good item! But the rubber cover is easy to open when not use it.

dual usb socket tim suiter on Sep 21, 2018

Rating: 5

great socket, well made

Mr Tony Graham on Sep 20, 2018

Rating: 4

Handy device and easy fitted to the 1200rt just 2no screws at the bottom of the panel , pull it off and then follow the instructions provided, All done in 15mins

Dual USB socket for BMW motorcycles (PLUG AND PLAY) SAZAVI KIM on Sep 11, 2018

Rating: 5

Grate fitting! It should be genuine part of BMW many riders surprised of this item. I wanna show after mounting pic. ps.how about single one? https://blog.naver.com/ralack/221345380043

👍🏻 mervyn henson on Sep 03, 2018

Rating: 5

Simple to install. Really handy addition to the bike - phone charging as you ride to your destination.

Could be better Simon Vowles on Aug 28, 2018

Rating: 2

Nice little unit, but the little flaps that keep the ports waterproof are very weak and 'pop' open way too easily and on their own, which almost defeats their purpose. I should have returned it for a refund, but had to use it for a trip. NIPPY NORMANS SAYS Never had the problem that Simon describes and we have sold plenty. Just return for a refund and we will make a refund

recommended Ron on Aug 27, 2018

Rating: 5

Perfect. Looks like factory fit does the job.

Dual USB socket I W Cosgrove on Aug 26, 2018

Rating: 4

Neat, easy to install addition. Can now charge phone etc whilst touring.

Mr Austin Vieth on Aug 26, 2018

Rating: 4

It works

Great dual USB setup and really easy to install. Paul on Aug 23, 2018

Rating: 5

Great piece of kit to replace the OEM DIN socket with 2 USB port, which is much more convenient to connect accessories like phone and action cams these days. Extremely easy to install, even for someone non mechanically minded without the need to remove any piece of fairing or gear and all the needed tools (a small wrench) is in the package.

Simple Solurion Trigger on Jul 28, 2018

Rating: 5

Can’t fault product. Forget instructions so simple to fit using spanner provided. Literally unplug existing plug remove retaining nut then fit this product so caps covering USB port open upwards. Secure with provided nut and plug in plug job done.

Duel port USB James on Jul 27, 2018

Rating: 5

I don't know why BMW don't fit these as standard, an excellent replacement item.

PERFECT! Federico Cappelli on Jul 23, 2018

Rating: 5

This product should be (and looks like) a standard feature of every GS, fitted in 2 minutes, comes with everything you need for fit it and looks grate.

Useful product Kevin on Jul 21, 2018

Rating: 4

Useful item and easy to fit. Being able to charge two devices at the same time is a real bonus. Not sure about the quality of the product though. The covers for the USB ports don't fit very well. They pop open with the lightest of touches.

USB scoket Ralph Sewell on Jul 20, 2018

Rating: 5

It just takes 20 minutes to replace the stock DIN plug with this Dual USB plug and it works very well with a short 20 inch reversible phone charging cord I found online. The shipping was a bit expensive to the US but I would buy it again.

Perfect fit Brian Mackie on Jul 11, 2018

Rating: 5

Great product, fitted into the bmw in place of the original DIN socket within 2 minutes. Was good to see it came with a spanner to remove the old fitting and fit the new top otherwise it would have been more fiddly. Worked first time and seems to have good watertight seals for both in and out of use which can only be good. Very impressed, thanks nippynormans. :)

Mr Kenneth Whitaker on Jul 08, 2018

Rating: 1

Not an problem with the socket looks good and seemed ideal for what I needed but it does not fit the R1200R LC 2016

Looks the part Ian Shepherd on Jul 06, 2018

Rating: 5

As stated fits as direct replacement of original Din socket. 5 mins to fit on an R 9 T Pure. It works fine and looks OE. 2nd socket may come in handy too.

Duel USB port Mark on Jul 05, 2018

Rating: 5

Excellent

Dual USB - brilliant Nick George on Jul 05, 2018

Rating: 5

Absolutely brilliant. Really easy to fit (took less than 5mins) and works really well - two different outputs depending on urgency of charge. Can't understand why BMW persist with a DIN socket, but that's Nippy Norman's gain! Buy one now!

Just the Job! Peter Rycroft on Jun 25, 2018

Rating: 5

Great product - quality feel to it and everything required for a fast - 5 minutes - fit. Great that it just plugs into the CANBUS loom. Works perfectly and the covers fit nicely to keep out the weather.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: