Choose your Bike...

Covid 19 Service Update

There are no issues with delivery anywhere and all of our staff are working normally.

Stay Safe

The Nippy Normans Team

Free Delivery

For ANY value order to the UK & Ireland
over £49 to Europe.

Free postage options available for other destinations

...Or pick a department

Reviews of Avant Guard engine protector - R1200R LC/RS LC, R1250R/1250RS

Avant Guard Engine Protector J DENNIS on Mar 15, 2020

Rating: 5

Arrived promptly. Appeared well manufactured and from good quality materials. After reading the clear instructions it took me 8 minutes to fit. Good protection afforded to the engine. Excellent.

Does the job Ian Cullen on Feb 16, 2020

Rating: 4

Pricey but substantial and well made. Straightforward to fit and covers the engine plate and exhaust headers nicely. Keeps the Devon crud off very well and overall I'm very pleased. First time I have bought from Nippies but will definitely return. Great service.

R1200rs engine guard Robert Mason on Nov 05, 2019

Rating: 5

Although the product is more expensive than others around, once I opened the package and examined it I could see why. It’s a gorgeous looking item as well as being top quality and fits perfectly doing exactly what it says it will.

Avant Guard engine protector William Durrand on Oct 08, 2018

Rating: 4

First class item although a bit expensive. It really is a good fit and will protect the front engine cover completely. Well made great quality

Avant Guard a hit Paul Abraham on Sep 22, 2018

Rating: 4

Very easy to fit and an impressive bit of kit.

Avant Guard Dave on Jul 25, 2018

Rating: 4

Excellent keeps the engine casing from road debris

Mr Ron Brown on Apr 18, 2018

Rating: 4

Keeps the front of the engine & exhausts clean. Easy to install, a little expensive perhaps thoug it's well made

Avant Guard engine protector Keith Watt on Mar 10, 2018

Rating: 5

Can only comment at the moment on the actual construction of this item as I haven't been out on the bike to test how well it works. It may be a little pricey but the Avant Guard engine protector is well made and easily fitted. It does seem that not only will it protect the engine casing from getting damaged from anything thrown up by the front mudguard but it also will stop the header pipes from a lot of debris getting onto them. Was a bit wary of spending this kind of money but once fitted to the bike can see that it is a good option as most fender extenders are too heavy for the flimsy front mudguard. Also would like to praise Nippy Normans for their very professional service and quick delivery if the item is in stock. Also would like to thank them especially for their quick response to any queries I had about any of their products on their website.

Great protection Jon on Jan 25, 2018

Rating: 5

very easy to fit and does great job of protecting the engine/headers. Pricey for a piece of plastic but worth the cost.

Perfect to protect the front of the engine Antonio on Dec 02, 2017

Rating: 5

Very good quality. It is very easy to place and it fits perfectly in the bike. Highly recommended.

Avante Guard for BMW R series Pete on Nov 14, 2017

Rating: 5

I have other excellent products from this manufacturer e.g. Mudslinger, but when I first saw Avante Guard I thought it most daggy looking. But when installed it's surprisingly subtle, and unbeatable protection for the front of the motor, even out wider there's less gunk gets amongst the awkward nooks at the base of the cylinders

Avant Guard Protector Hugh Jones on Oct 17, 2017

Rating: 4

Well designed,well engineered and well made. Fits perfectly, protects front of engine right up to the underside of the radiator.Also keeps road crud off the exhaust header pipes.Looks like a genuine BMW accessory. My only gripe is the cost, £149 for a piece of injection moulded plastic is a bit ridiculous. Hence, drops a star.

advant guard harry cunningham on Jun 15, 2017

Rating: 5

this product is very good dose what it says very easy to fit very pleased would recommend and the mud sling

Engine protector Mark on Apr 06, 2017

Rating: 4

Good instructions a bit fiddly but fitted within 20min Item is robust plastic and covers a lot of the engine design is stylish and compliments the bike

Mr John Taylor on Feb 28, 2017

Rating: 5

Superb service from Nippy Normans

R1200RS LC engine protector Doug Cornish on Jan 18, 2017

Rating: 5

Tough and simple to fit. Doesn't stick out like a sore thumb like a mud guard extender. The aluminium bracket does indeed have razor like edges so be careful with that part.

Mr fabrizio formica on Oct 15, 2016

Rating: 5

very good

Mr. Jeroen van den Berg on Oct 03, 2016

Rating: 4

Though pricey, it does it's job. Keeps mud away from the exhaust, cilinders and trousers. Easy fit. Given the fact it's just a piece of plastic, I've rated it with 4 stars, at half it's price it would have earned the full 5 stars.

Quality piece of non-bling Mark Rooms on Oct 02, 2016

Rating: 5

Well packaged by NN. Straight forward instructions in real English. Easy to fit. Initially a little concerned that the aluminium plate was too flimsy but actually just right. The shaped plastic of the engine guard is sturdy and appears durable. Overall very happy. I have been prevaricating about the price but this and the cylinder heads are the most exposed parts, so worth it.

Excellent product for keeping front of engine casing clean carl booth on Sep 09, 2016

Rating: 5

Purchased this product with the rear hugger, and came at the same time, was packed very well. After unpacking went on the bike in no time, after watching the video, was easy to fit and looks the part, will be looking to purchase the cylinder covers, very happy with the service from Nippy Normans

Front Fender Graham on Sep 04, 2016

Rating: 5

Well made, easy to fit. Does exactly what it says on the tin.

Mr C. Barrell on May 25, 2016

Rating: 5

Bought the front engine Avant Guard from nippy normans as obviously the front cover is well exposed and this was the best solutions i could find. Was much better quality than I thought it was going to be. Took minutes to fit and looks oem original. Arrived next day from when ordered. Very pleased.

High quality product with perfect fit. Johan on May 20, 2016

Rating: 5

Realy impressed with machineart products. High quality. Packing and instructions very good. The protection itself melts in very well with the design of the bike. Very pleased with this purchase.

Avantguard protector Andrew Hodgson on Apr 23, 2016

Rating: 3

A really good quality product that looks like factory,a little pricey but would definitely recommend this product

Good quality product Chris Drew on Apr 10, 2016

Rating: 5

Good quality product, easy to fit and very effective. The lower edge is just the right height to keep the lower engine casing and exhaust system free from road rash. I wasn't sure about the looks initially but when you get used to it, it becomes inconspicuous.

Blends in well, does the job! Steven Garratt on Mar 14, 2016

Rating: 5

Straight forward to fit, and blends in better than I thought it would. Good alternative to the fender extender!

Excellent Product Kevin Pearce on Mar 14, 2016

Rating: 4

Excellent Quality, excellent protection, easy to fit and looks like an original part of the bike. And best of all, it works! really protects the entire front of the engine and the exhaust headers. Despite that, can't help thinking its a little pricey for what it is. Especially since I'm having to pay to overcome BMW's design flaws - what's the point of a mudguard that doesn't 'guard' against much road debris!?. Usual superb service from NN.

Mr David Herbert on Mar 05, 2016

Rating: 3

Very easy to fit and good instructions, good match to original parts and covers the frontal area very well. Like the hugger NN sell it is a good colour and looks factory fitted, just a shame BMW did not fit and adequate mudguard, strong enough or long enough to protect this paintwork. No need to undo any engine bolts as it uses two spare holes underneath crankcase that other models retain a bashplate.

Good solution to problem Ryan on Mar 04, 2016

Rating: 5

Looks good, easily fitted. Just watch the knuckles on the very sharp aluminium supplied bracket, lots of blood. Completely covers the engine front so gives good protection.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: