Choose your Bike...

Covid 19 Service Update

There are no issues with delivery anywhere and all of our staff are working normally.

Stay Safe

The Nippy Normans Team

Free Delivery

For orders over £10 to the UK & Ireland.

For orders over £49 to Europe.

...Or pick a department

Reviews of Optimate 4.4 BMW Can Bus Goldline DUAL Charger with FREE hook

Optimate G Funnell on Sep 12, 2020

Rating: 4

Excellent product easy to use. The service from Nippy Norman’s was first class, as always no complaints.

Very useful piece of kit Andre La Bouchardiere on Sep 08, 2020

Rating: 5

I don’t do high mileages on my bike so it’s handy to know that this easy to use charger is there to keep the battery maintained in the best condition.

Mr Hedley on Jul 27, 2020

Rating: 4

Works well, just plug in

Essential piece of kit Dave on Jul 25, 2020

Rating: 4

Cable is lengthy easy to plug into bike power socket so no need to use the crocodile clips. Keeps battery from losing its power whilst sat for periods of time.

Optimate 4.4 BMW Can Bus Charger John Higgs on Jul 13, 2020

Rating: 5

A great charger for the can bus bikes but be advised that it comes factory set in normal battery mode, not can bus mode. I found the instructions a little confusing and didn't pick up that you need to attach the crocodile clips chord, connect the clips together, then plug the charger into the mains and turn it on to switch the charger out of normal battery mode and into 'can bus' mode before you use it on your bike. I only picked that up after watching a couple of YouTube videos. After switching modes the charger works brilliantly and the lead lengths are very generous. It's a bit of a cheek, though, to claim you're getting a free hook when you're being charged more than the same product without it.

Optimate 4 Ian Mackay on Jun 16, 2020

Rating: 4

Came setup for the BMW Can Bus system, plug in and off it went. Once you understand what all the different lights mean, easy to use and works a treat.

Optimate 4.4 BMW Canbus Peter Murphy on Jun 07, 2020

Rating: 5

Sublime service once again from NN. The charger is clearly a higher end item for my existing Oximiser, which I thought was broken but traced the fault to a dodgy connection. In any case this is a better option for the Beemer, far superior wiring and connections , and I have now rigged up my Blade ( No 2 Bike) to accept the same connections. This smart charger, I am sure will prolong the life of the battery. Unreservedly recommended

Optimate 4.4 Les Tyrrell on May 19, 2020

Rating: 5

Does exactly what it says on the tin! Plug into accessory socket - job done!

Optimate 4.4 BMW Canbus charger Mark Wiles on May 19, 2020

Rating: 4

Excellent charger, well made worked straight out of the box plugging into the BMW accessory socket.

Another Great Product Paul Hobson on May 18, 2020

Rating: 4

Due to the civil lockdown I had to put my bike on life support. Nippy Norman’s website has good information on what is required to charge a battery on a bike with the Can Bus system. Very helpful and the charger is a quality product.

Optimate 4.4. Ian Charlton on May 11, 2020

Rating: 5

Optimate chargers are great my friends car over the road wasn’t being used because of the lockdown and his battery went flat. He used my optimate and after a couple of days his car battery was back and working.

Charger good; instructions confusing William Twigg on May 04, 2020

Rating: 4

The instructions are woeful. Charger is simple to set up - but it was a case of plug into the CAN controlled power socket and hope! Eventually green lights seem to indicate everything working OK. It was then a case of re-reading the instructions several times to make sense of what was happening. 4 stars because the charger seems to work OK and is well-built - for 5 stars, those instructions need to make logical sense!

Optimate 4.4 BMW Can Bus Keith Dunster on Apr 30, 2020

Rating: 4

does what it says on the tin!

Battery charger simon payne on Apr 26, 2020

Rating: 4

Great piece of kit, simple plug & pay as instructions were very confusing.

Canbus Optimate. Ged Baines on Apr 26, 2020

Rating: 5

The Optimate was so simple to use, just plug into the BMW accessory socket and walk away. Read the instructions, the charger goes through a diagnostic phase and gives a lot of information. I have no doubt it will last forever, I have 3 working Optimate models now, I only had to buy this latest one because my bike has Canbus.

Canbus David Edward Thomas on Apr 21, 2020

Rating: 5

Perfect plugged it in and charger worked

OPT-OPT4BMWVER Les Hurrey on Mar 23, 2020

Rating: 4

Excellent service and very pleased with the prouct

Optimate 4.4 BMW Dual charger William Findlay on Mar 21, 2020

Rating: 4

What a great charger, this is the best I have come across others have oxidised the battery. Well worth the 5 stars.

Just the job Steve Carter on Mar 15, 2020

Rating: 5

Bought for my new GSA replacing my old, but still working, optimate. Plugs straight into the accessory plug and comes set up in canbus mode, always check though. As always great service from Nippy Norman's 👍

Good charger saved my battery Steve Turnbull on Feb 19, 2020

Rating: 4

I had not used my bijke for 4 months over winter and the battery was dead. The Optimate recovered the battery successfully and it now spins the bike over easily with no issues. Saved me buying a new battery. Only negative is that I didn't receive the free hook for hanging it on the bars. I didn't complain as I wasn't overly concerned.

optimate-44-bmw-can-bus-goldline-dual-charger-with-free hook Dave Skupien on Feb 04, 2020

Rating: 4

Delivery performance excellent; the charger works out of the box, recovering & maintaining the battery in 12 hrs after fitting. However the instructions are confusing regarding the cycling through the charger programme. Fortunately all you do is plug it in!

Confusing Instructions but It Works. Nic on Feb 03, 2020

Rating: 4

The instructions are confusing. It was not clear if it could just be plugged straight into a CanBus system bike without changing any settings. Anyway - just plugged it into the socket and it worked perfectly. Seems like an excellent device. (minus 1 star for confusing instructions).

Optimate charger BMW Dave Burrows on Feb 02, 2020

Rating: 4

Plugs straight into bike and maintains battery at all times, this allows for the bike to remain alarmed and ready to go. Really nice piece of kit that is wall mounted as well.

Amazing tender James Mountford on Jan 30, 2020

Rating: 5

My bikes battery was pretty much dead, I got this and it gave new life to my battery which is now in perfect working order. Nippy Norman’s is also the cheapest place to buy this from. Awesome product and awesome service

Brilliant Paul Roberts on Jan 22, 2020

Rating: 5

This charger is so easy with Can Bus technology - plug in a let it do its things. Would highly recommend, came with a free hook , even better ! 😀

Just what I needed Wayne Smith on Jan 17, 2020

Rating: 5

I’ve been looking around for some time and weighing up the differences between this and the genuine BMW, this gives me the flexibility I need and it’s an easy plug and play, I like it no issues and to be able to use the socket near to the dash is a great plus

Optimate Peter Dittmann on Jan 16, 2020

Rating: 5

Quick delivery as always, Great product. The handlebar hook is a nice touch

Does what it's supposed to do. David Thomas on Jan 09, 2020

Rating: 4

I had to read the instructions a couple of times to make sure I was setting it up right, because BMW have change the wiring to the DIN socket.

Optimate 4.4 Canbus charger M MARSDEN on Jan 08, 2020

Rating: 4

Charger arrived promptly and was well packaged. Checked instructions and found it easy to use. Just plug into bike socket and switch power on and away you go. Has been in use several weeks now and is working as expected and maintaining battery.

Optimiser ALISON ANNAN on Jan 01, 2020

Rating: 4

Very pleased with product and had battery charged v quickly.. Felt handbook is over complicated..

Optimate 4 - Good but confusing! Glynn Griffin on Nov 26, 2019

Rating: 4

I've had an Optimate for years (old version), but haven't used it with My GS. When my bike battery recently showed signs of getting a bit 'tired' I decided to 'upgrade' to the newer CAN Bus Optimate so I can use the DIN socket for simplicity. I've always found Optimates to be dead simple when your battery is good and healthy, but when things aren't quite right I've found the instructions and LED indicator system hard to get to grips with. I was interested that the new one has been revised, with better charging programs and "Less confusing display". Well for me it's still confusing. My battery has (had) issues, but it was really difficult to work out what the LEDs were actually telling me, and the instructions are as clear as mud! After a while I gave up on the Optimate telling me whether my old battery was recoverable or not and replaced it. **Now** the optimate is of course perfect, it has a new battery to work with, it shows lots of green lights and my battery charging world is full of smiles. I just wonder whether it's actually doing anything to protect my nice shiny new battery that continued regular use wouldn't do just as well? So bottom line... I think it's a good bit of kit and does the job it's supposed to do, but why does it have to be so complicated for the end user? One star docked for poor instructions and confusing LEDs.

Mick Mick Hughes on Nov 05, 2019

Rating: 5

The frame bungs are a practical way of stopping the crud & enhancing the bike. The can abus optimate charger is brilliant, just plug in & hook up to the bikes power point & let it regulate & look after your battery. The optimate extension lead let's you leave your bike in what would have been an inaccessible position had you not had this extension lead & just makes life easier & gives you more options of where you can put your bike . All these products are excellent value & make life easier. Excellent service from the Nippy Normans Team, would recommend & use again, fast & efficient & website very user friendly.

PERFECT Douglas King on Jun 19, 2019

Rating: 5

The Optimate Charger works perfectly. Plug n Play with no problems

Intimate 4.3 battery charger Richard Hunt on Jun 03, 2019

Rating: 4

The charger is doing everything it's supposed to without any problems.

Works a Treat Phil Roberts on Apr 19, 2019

Rating: 4

I've used Optimate chargers to keep bike batteries in top shape for at least 20 years, but this is my first experience with a Can Bus system, and this charger works perfectly straight out of the box.

mr joe cunningham on Apr 16, 2019

Rating: 5

excellent, improved my battery no end

Works like a charm James Cooper on Mar 03, 2019

Rating: 4

Very easy to use, plugged directly to the CANbus socket and the charger took care of the rest. Perfect for keeping the bike on charge over winter.

Plug n play David Richards on Feb 23, 2019

Rating: 4

Super easy to use. Plug n play. No CANBUS problems.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: