Choose your Bike...

Covid 19 Service Update

There are no issues with delivery anywhere and all of our staff are working normally.

Stay Safe

The Nippy Normans Team

Free Delivery

For orders over £49 to the UK & Ireland.

For orders over £99 to Europe.

...Or pick a department

Reviews of DIN' size socket kit 12V / 5A (including fuse)

Nice socket - poor fuse holder Mike Rowland on Oct 26, 2021

Rating: 4

The 5A DIN socket appears to be of OE quality with a nicely sprung cover. The plastic mounting bracket is ok but for a neater, more secure installation I think I'll panel-mount it somewhere rather than leave it cable-tied to the subframe. The fuse holder (miniature blade fuse) is, however, appalling. One of those Scotchlok-style 'snap it closed to cut through the wire insulation for electrical connection' jobbies. Reckon it fell out of a cheap Christmas cracker. Substituted it for decent rubberised weather-proof one which I soldered in place. The set-up works fine.

Din socket. mick Robinson on Sep 14, 2021

Rating: 5

I bought this extra socket to use with the airman pump. There is one fitted on the bike but the airman will not run on it as it draws too much current. Fitted in conjunction with the nippy normans relocation bracket which I took of my old bike, I wired the socket direct to the battery via the inline fuse provided in the kit. An easy ten minute fit that is neat and practical. Problem solved.

Din Socket Paul on Feb 05, 2021

Rating: 5

Great service Din socket as described.

Extra din socket kit. Mark Millard on Jan 13, 2021

Rating: 5

Good quality kit to fit an extra DIN socket to your bike, easy to fit with instructions, cheaper than buying all the separate parts yourself. Good service from Nippy Normans, well packaged and quick delivery. Mark

Good aux socket Dave on Nov 22, 2020

Rating: 4

Just what you need. Connection direct to battery with supplied cable, or to fuse box etc.

extra power socket steven lewis on Sep 07, 2020

Rating: 5

BOUGHT THIS SOCKET KIT FOR EXTRA POWER WHEN USING COMPRESSOR

Superb product Ash D on Sep 01, 2020

Rating: 5

Great product. Great price. Easy to fit. 10 / 10

Mr EVAN TANTSIOPOULOS on Jul 15, 2020

Rating: 4

It wasn't clear that it contained the plastic base so i bought it two times.other than that great.

Useful additional socket David Dyer on May 09, 2020

Rating: 4

A useful additional socket used in conjunction with the DIN socket relocation kit https://www.nippynormans.com/nippy-normans-products/miscellaneous/nippy-normans-din-socket-relocation-kit-r1200gs-lcadventure-lc-r1250gsadventure The internals of the socket are a little flimsy, moving around if you wriggle the spade connectors. Probably OK for the occasional use of the Airman tyre inflator.

Useful accessory Pedro Pires Coelho on Feb 08, 2020

Rating: 5

Very useful item, easy and quick installation.

Din socket ROBERT HAZELDEN on Feb 03, 2020

Rating: 3

Well made unit but poor flip lid that closes down , 1st one delivered was broken , 2nd unit is fitted , but still has a weak spring & over time this lid will break, not as well made as bmw German made original unit that came as standard on bike when 1st made, I think it has to made in rubber to last the time in all weathers

Socket Kit Steve King on Jul 28, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy to fit and works perfectly, cannot fault it!

Easy to fit Martin Smith on Jun 04, 2019

Rating: 5

Easy to fit. I bought this to bypass the CAN-BUS. The ties are a bit weak and I snapped one so I used some stronger ones that I had. I'm told that I would be better advised to use a 7.5 amp fuse rather than the supplied 5 amp for use with the air compressor that I will be using it with. There was a suggestion that I needed am accessory socket holder if not drilling and installing through a hole but this was not necessary as it came with the bracket.

Essential kit Alan Scott on May 23, 2019

Rating: 4

Essential kit if you’ve a canbus equipped BMW and need to run anything requiring more power than the standard accessory socket will allow. I wanted to power an Airman tyre compressor. It’s simple to fit and works a treat. The supplied cables are bit short if you want to mount it anywhere other than on the frame but not a problem on my RS nor I’d imagine a GS.

Aux socket Kevin Sartin on Apr 13, 2019

Rating: 4

Wanted to fit a discreet aux socket for sat-nav. This is small enough to install behind the cylinder head and not be noticed. Very pleased.

Din. Socket Jeff on Sep 10, 2018

Rating: 5

Good kit, easy to fit just above existing fairing socket. Does the job.

Nice but not perfect Federico Cappelli on Jul 23, 2018

Rating: 4

The socket itself is well done and comest with everything you need, but the 2 cable ties for secure it to the bike frame are not strong enough and if the socket is attached to a cylindrical frame tube will rotate.

Good socket, but leads too short Loch Miwa on Jul 02, 2018

Rating: 4

Good socket and mounting bracket, but the leads were too short to reach from the instrument panel to the battery.

Din Socket MR JAN PIECHOCKI on Apr 24, 2018

Rating: 5

This is very useful addition so more auxiliary equipment can be plugged in, it is well made and comes with everything you need for fitting recommended...

Great Product Scott Dickson on Apr 13, 2018

Rating: 5

I bought this as the Canbus system on the bike limits the amps to the factory fitted one. This one connects directly to the battery and fits neatly into one of the spare holes next to the other power socket. Easy to fit. The only thing I’d say is it needs to have longer wires and a higher rating fuse, as I use it for the air pump that I bought along with it. Great bit of kit and doesn’t look out of place at all.

Good Greg Wood on Jan 08, 2018

Rating: 5

Installed in 20 mins and working like a charm. Happy.

Works well, easy to fit. Needs a longer lead. John Ramwell on Nov 21, 2017

Rating: 4

I bought this as an additional socket as that on the F800GT socket is badly positioned and exposed to the elements. This sits neatly under the seat but the lead is too short to reach from the battery and I had to extend it. Note that the supplied fuse rated at 7.5 amps is too low for the Airman Pump which draws 10 amps.

DIN Socket kit Ian Dimmick on Nov 16, 2017

Rating: 4

Nice, easy to fit

Accessory socket Nils Helge Tveisme on Mar 05, 2017

Rating: 5

Good quality product. But cables should be 10 cm longer if you want to installed it in the fairing. Good service from Nippy.

Accessory socket Malcolm Miller on Feb 15, 2017

Rating: 4

I used this to provide an easie charging facility for my 1983 R65. The battery is quite difficult to access and terminals very close to the frame, so this solved the problem completely. Easy to fit, just a suitable sized hole in the LHS panel and job done! Looks neat and just as if it should have been designed that way. I did seal the spade connections on the socket with silicone sealant however to deter spray from rear wheel.

Service David Watson on Feb 05, 2017

Rating: 5

Excellent product. Very fast service and simple to order. Used them before and will use them again

Mr Chris Kelley on Jan 09, 2017

Rating: 5

Used this to replace the corroded OE power socket. Dead simple to fit.

Mr. ian miller on Apr 19, 2016

Rating: 3

Fitted satisfactory and does what it says on the tin thanks

Ashley Talbot on Nov 09, 2015

Rating: 4

It an accessory plug, what can I say, I needed to add an additional socket to run, if needed, either a compressor or my heated waistcoat, the socket next to the bikes dash will only support a phone charger or GPS, if the terminals didn't project straight out but were a 90* it would make it much easier to find a suitable location for it, I positioned mine on the top right side of the RH battery cover

Peter van Geuns on Oct 12, 2015

Rating: 5

Straight to the battery!!!

Mr D on Jul 26, 2015

Rating: 5

Fitted this to my 2009 R1200GSA to overcome the canbus 'cutting out' issue when using Airman compressor (canbus doesn't like anything over 5amp). Easy to fit, just cut the live wire, use pliers to clamp the supplied fuse holder onto each cut end, insert supplied fuse, connect both wires to battery - done!

Ewins Tony on May 01, 2015

Rating: 5

Nice tidy piece of kit

Ron Coleman on Apr 16, 2015

Rating: 3

Good product woks well Good service as usual from NN

Graham Lagden on Mar 17, 2015

Rating: 3

Received with great service from Nippy. Purchased to ensure my Airman pump works OK and it does. Good job

Neil Koos on Dec 19, 2014

Rating: 5

Good product

Terry Harte on Apr 27, 2014

Rating: 5

Good service will use again

Robin Blowfield on Apr 12, 2014

Rating: 4

Good product overall. Cables too short for my GS Adventure. Had to fit longer cables. Fits neatly just beneath the passenger seat.

John Cobley on Jun 01, 2013

Rating: 4

A useful piece of kit. Easy to fit and it makes keeping the battery charged up, a doddle. It is a bit difficult to get the tie wraps for the mounting kit tight enough to stop the socket turning on the frame but that is not a big problem. Otherwise a first rate item.

Eddie Simmins on Jan 10, 2013

Rating: 4

Can't complain - does what it says on the tin (plastic bag actually)- bit fiddly to fit to the bike on the right hand side of the fairing - had to take more panels off than anticipated - but worth it in the end.

Robbie Tulloch on Dec 17, 2012

Rating: 4

Excellent product,it fitted nicely under the pillion seat with the wires leading through to the battery.

Moto Abruzzo on Mar 31, 2012

Rating: 4

Nice build quality, works a treat.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: