Choose your Bike...

Covid 19 Service Update

There are no issues with delivery anywhere and all of our staff are working normally.

Stay Safe

The Nippy Normans Team

Free Delivery

For orders over £10 to the UK & Ireland.

For orders over £49 to Europe.

...Or pick a department

Reviews of MachineArt X-Heads for DOHC models (pair) - R1200GS/Adv/R/RT, R NINE T, Scrambler, Racer, Pure, Urban GS

X-Head installation mervyn jones on Jul 29, 2020

Rating: 4

These really do look the dogs when there on, however, if you own a 1200 RT it is a devil of a job tightening the rear bolts due to the lower fairing, use hexagonal bolts instead and you can just get a spanner in

Excellent product Marco Camacho on Jul 27, 2020

Rating: 5

Excellent product and very good packaging. It looks great,non-intrusive and easy to install. The only problem is with the carrier you use to send it here,to Portugal. Please change it!!!DPD is a nightmare.Very poor customer support. Will considerer that the next time i buy something from you guys. Cheers NN SAYS We would normally use Royal Mail but they are having trouble sending to Portugal so we upgraded to DPD who are usually brilliant. A local issue probably and our apologies for the delay.

Hopefully never use it Roland Schaffrath on Jul 18, 2020

Rating: 5

The cylinder head covers of MaschineArt are easy to fit and do not disturb the classic lines of the bike. Just the right "peace of mind" accessory in case you drop the bike. Extra benefit is scratch protection when moving the bike around in shed or garage. I had already a close encounter with a concrete post twice. Obviously no real crash protection for high speed accidents. Be aware the connector for jump lead earth on right cylinder has to be moved to a lower position.

Excellent product Brendan Dunne on Jul 01, 2020

Rating: 5

Excellent product of high quality. Easy to fit and looks like OEM equipment. Fully protects cylinder heads. Would highly recommend.

MachineArt X-Heads for DOHC models (pair) - R NINE T Sean Oliver on Apr 15, 2020

Rating: 5

Great addition to the look my the r nine t with the protection 😉 Exactly what I was looking for. Excellent seller fast and direct. Will use again👍

Head Guards Martyn Wells on Oct 11, 2019

Rating: 5

Top quality and a perfect fit

MachineArt X-Heads for DOHC models (pair) - R1200GS/Adv/R/RT, R NINE T, Scrambler, Racer, Pure, Urban GS James Lawrence on May 12, 2019

Rating: 5

Aesthetically pleasing and easy to fit....job done skin

MachineArt cylinder head protection. Baz on Mar 13, 2019

Rating: 5

Very substantial, Well made and fit perfectly. Much preferred to Engine Bars that can cause more damage than they prevent.

X Cylinder Head Protectors John on Feb 14, 2019

Rating: 4

Look good and would appear to be effective but thankfully not had to try them out as yet and hope not to!!

R1200RT Head protectors Harry Acton on Feb 13, 2019

Rating: 5

Very impressed with the quality of this product, and looks right at home on the bike. It breaks up the alloy standing out, giving excellent protection if required. Fine addition to a fine bike!!

X - Heads Micky on Jan 26, 2019

Rating: 4

Will be used for racing, seen a few reports of bars doing more damage in a spill. These are made of nylon like knee sliders and have cushion effect pads, so if you just touch them down they will slide, cushion the impact and not dig in. Great value to boot.

Mr David Yepes on Aug 13, 2018

Rating: 5

Fit was spot on. The product seems to be very well made. The looks are not intrusive, and fit well with the style of the bike. I actually think that the added black (vs the gray of the cylinders) improves the look. A few weeks after installation, the bike was parked on uneven ground and it fell on its side. Even though it was a no-speed drop, the clutch lever broke. As for the cylinder head,.. it was spared from scratches - which already justified the investment on the protectors. Obviously, the bike will maintain its resell value better if you can avoid small usage scars like these ones.

MachineArt X-Heads R9T Simon on Aug 03, 2018

Rating: 5

These covers are the nuts. Fit beautifully from the off. Complement rather than undermine the beauty of my Boxer. Feeling more secure doing push turns on my gravel drive now!

Good Chris Vincent on Feb 27, 2018

Rating: 4

You can’t really give these 5* until you drop the bike and see how well they perform then, but they fitted easily, fit well, and extend further up the rocker cover than the BMW items on my previous R, that allowed a cover to scuff above the guard.

Review of X heads cylinder head covers. Matthew Blythe on Jan 24, 2018

Rating: 5

X-heads cylinder head covers are very quick & easy to fit, they are inconspicuous but at the same time look good.The fit over the cylinder is very precise and will act to protect the outer casing against knocks/ scratches or should the bike go over. Fitting instructions are simple & clear so compared with other products that are several hundred pounds these are great value and do look good. Highly recommended.Another great product from NN'S.

Very satisdied David Rowe on Aug 21, 2017

Rating: 4

Great company to deal with. I always check Nippy Normans first when I look for parts and accessories.

X_Head protection Philip on Aug 04, 2017

Rating: 4

Really nice fit, very snug and blends in nicely. My only gripe is why not supply "Torx" head screws? The nice quality screws supplied are hex-head and all the rest of the bike is Torx!!!

Mr LIAKOPOULOS FOTIOS on Jul 24, 2017

Rating: 4

Great product, fits neatly and looks to give good protection. Nip pus service was excellent rapid delivery

The best head protectors Mike B on Jun 11, 2017

Rating: 5

The X-head protectors are head-and-shoulders above the rest simply by being thicker and covering more of the cam box cover than others I have seen. Possibly the most impressive demonstration can be seen on YouTube showing a bike being dropped. If you need head protectors for your bike then I have no qualms about recommending the X-head. Great service from Nippy Norman's too!

X-heads Marc Tighe on Dec 19, 2016

Rating: 4

Nice product well made a bit pricy but on par with similar companys I had to remove fairing's for fitting. Excellent service from nippy normans Fast delivery

Xheads Peter harper on Aug 23, 2016

Rating: 3

Replace the engine bars with these as Did not like the way the bars hit the motor on a fall and as I drop it a lot off road I was looking for something different, so fitted these , have dropped it on hard rock a few times now and it has saved the heads , removed them to check and no damage they work great

Mr John Atthews on Jul 22, 2016

Rating: 5

Nice quality nylon moulding with well fitting shock absorbing inserts. Each side fitted easily over the cam cover and the fasteners lined up. How much protection it gives must be taken on trust for the moment but the cam covers are quite strong and the X Heads will reduce the shock load on the covers and prevent the scraping and gouging that will occur if dropped. I am pleased with this product.

Engine Guard Aidi Karsi on Jul 07, 2016

Rating: 3

This product is awesome, material used was at its highest quality. Mounting is so easy and covered fully on the cylinder head.. Highly recommend for its assurance..

BMW R1200R valve cover guards Ian Walton on May 10, 2016

Rating: 5

I liked these very tough and smart looking cylinder head guards on my 2011 R1200R so much, I fitted them on my new R NineT. They are really easy to fit and cover all of the exposed paint on the cylinder head covers. I have actually dropped my R1200R on two occasions and the head covers remained unmarked. Certainly recommended for this price.

daniele cami on Jan 27, 2016

Rating: 4

order is ok

Fabrizio Russo on Jan 03, 2016

Rating: 5

Fast and reliable

Roy Edwards on Dec 05, 2015

Rating: 5

Expensive but seem to be excellent quality (which I hope never to test) and with a large area of protection not afforded by other makes. Not difficult to fit but hard work as they are a very 'snug' fit on the pot heads.

Nelmes Tim on Oct 22, 2015

Rating: 4

Nice-looking and appear to do the job in the unfortunate event of a low-speed drop, according to the R NineT owners forum, hence the purchase. Mine were a real pig to fit though. Contacted MachineArt and received an apology and acknowledgement of a faulty batch. Said that the parts would settle-in though. I then had courteous email from NippyNormans offering to exchange if I was at all unhappy. I didn't. Verdict: Poor fit 3*, Appearance 4*, after-sales service, 5*

Joni Schultz on Sep 16, 2015

Rating: 4

Good looks, reasonable prize. Excellent support from manufacturer. One Star off for slight fitting problems...

David Tilly on Mar 26, 2015

Rating: 5

Excellent quality easy to fit and look great.

Angus Constable-Townsend on Mar 23, 2015

Rating: 5

Excellent high quality product,for finish,fit,protection,appearance & price.Compliments as well to Nippy Normans exceptional website,postage & followup service. Regards,Angus

Carlos Ribeiro on Mar 10, 2015

Rating: 5

Perfect fitting, very nice material. Looks great on bike.

Ian Walton on Dec 02, 2014

Rating: 5

The DOHC X-Head cylinder head guards that I fitted to my R-Nine-T are very well made, good quality,they fit well and are priced about right. They are very easy to fit and really enhance the look of the bike. I considered other makes, but I'm glad I opted for these. Very satisfied customer.

ken wiltshire on Nov 06, 2014

Rating: 5

good quality good price.good service.

ken wiltshire on Nov 06, 2014

Rating: 4

all products top quality.quickeasy service.will use again.

Phil Chang on Sep 23, 2014

Rating: 5

Great protector, outstanding strong Nylon, inner attached very large & strong rubber, love it.

Frank Gill on Aug 28, 2014

Rating: 4

Great product, fits neatly and looks to give good protection. Nip pus service was excellent rapid delivery

Raymond Schwer on Aug 23, 2014

Rating: 4

Had to tap the thread in the heads deeper as the bolts supplied are too long,easy to fit and look good. Looks like they should give good protection.

Steve Browne on Aug 19, 2014

Rating: 4

Great looking piece of kit. ***Be aware that on an RT you will have to remove a lot of fairing screws to actually fit this product*** I have asked NN to update the website to include in the description the fitting to an RT. Overall pretty pleased, but will my local BMW dealer charge me more for removing them to fit plugs????

Marc Iserman on Jul 20, 2014

Rating: 5

These covers are fitted in minutes, offer protection and look great too. I can't fault the price for this product. Recommended. (Fitted to 2014 R nine T).

Nick Veiga on Jun 25, 2014

Rating: 5

A doddle to fit and look really good on. Highly recommended.

Julian Webb on Mar 08, 2014

Rating: 4

These will certainly offer some protection in the event of a drop and prevent stone chipping too. Looks are superb as the material is a very good match for the other plastics on my black bike. In theory they should have been very easy to fit on the Roadster but unfortunately the thread on the front of the right cylinder of my engine was not cut deep enough to take the full length of the supplied screw. I did attempt to run a tap down the hole to extend the thread but the risk of snapping the tap off meant I lost my bottle and opted to find and fit a shorter screw which finished the job eventually. All in, a nice addition though.

Richard Telfer on Nov 07, 2013

Rating: 5

Great quality, easy to fit, hopefully I'll never need them

Bruce Mitchell on Oct 28, 2013

Rating: 4

Good looking and fit, look hardy enough to take a slow speed slide.

Terry Cooke on Jan 06, 2013

Rating: 5

Looked at several variations on this theme. IMHO these are the best looking. They are a very tight fit and the faring is best removed for easy fitment. Did do one side without removal but was a pain

a frenchman on Dec 03, 2012

Rating: 5

Excellent product, a little bit expensive but worth buying. Easy to install. It looks strong and reliable, although I do not want to test... More, it is the most aesthetic of this type I have found on the market (according to me, of course).Very good e-mail relation with dealer.

Kevan Clarkson on Sep 16, 2012

Rating: 5

Easy order process, quick delivery and good quality product. Look great on the bike, I think they are much better than genuine BMW units.

Kevin Deehan on May 08, 2012

Rating: 5

Looks great, easy to fit and very sturdy.

Brian Goddard on Mar 29, 2012

Rating: 4

Excellent quality but a very tight fit. The instructions called for a simple replacement of 3 screws per side. What they didn't say was that to get the new longer screws into the rear upper holes meant a partial removal of the fairing. The picture showed an un-faired engine, so what I thought would be a 15 minute job took 2 hours. Result though is very good.

Christopher Maxwell on Mar 26, 2012

Rating: 4

An excellent product of high quality and reasonable pricing. Very smart looking. Generally easy to install, the fitting instructions are clear and precise. Although you do have to work at lining up the bolt holes as the guards require some compression to assist alignment. The replacement bolts are treated with thread lock and therefore are tight. Just take your time and care and the result is well worth it.

To help prevent spam, please answer the following question: